in-country orientation

Goodness, aren’t you oriented yet? You must be quite directionally impaired.

Well actually, yes…

Monday-Wednesday of this week have been designated “In-Country Orientation.” In reality, I will probably not remember this week for the (relatively few) hours I’ve spent in a chair listening to talks about safety and how to ensure basic happiness on a Russia Fulbright (–i.e. don’t expect to be coddled or to always find a toilet seat in every bathroom).

But I think I’ll remember living in Moscow with 30 really cool people.

On Monday, we visited the Embassy. Pretty interesting. There was a statue of John Quincy Adams inside. But what’s more interesting is that afterwards five of us found Uzbek food and then walked to Red Square in the dark. I ordered lagman, a dish with noodles, egg, onions, bell peppers, and garlic. So, like, all my favorite foods. And then we only got lost about once per kilometer on our way from there to Red Square.

IMG_6035

On Tuesday, we sat on the 16th floor of our hotel and listened to presentations by the program director, a past ETA, and past Russian FLTAs (grantees to America). Certainly not boring. But what’s definitely less boring was a trip to the botanical gardens and a family-style Ukrainian dinner. A group of us wandered the streets for a while trying to find the gardens, and when we found them, we wandered the gardens for a few hours.

IMG_6041
If your soul were a tree, what kind of tree would it be, and where would it live? You’re looking at mine.
IMG_6042
Had an urge to cartwheel through this field. Was deterred by inner voice of propriety and desire to not break a wrist.
IMG_6057
Autumn is SO CLOSE I can SMELL it.

 For dinner we shared macaroni po flotski (noodles with some meat-onion stuff), cherry vareniki (like dumplings), cabbage vareniki, golubtsi (stuffed cabbage leaves in some delicious bright yellow sauce), and green tea. Everything was deeeeelicious. BUT I saved the best for last: sala. Yes, I ate pig fat. Yes, it was yummy (I think it was cured in some kind of garlic-mix?). Yes, I think I’ll have fairly easy time gaining weight here. 

Wednesday we didn’t have any strictly official activities except a closing lunch. At this lunch, I used my super sleuthing skills to discover what people were planning for the afternoon (going to the Tretyakov Gallery or going to a cemetery), and then I used my super decision skills to choose my own course (Tretyakov Gallery, because RUSSIAN ART). So three of us walked through pretty much the entirety of the gallery, spending absurd amounts of time in the rooms dedicated to peredvizhniki (a group of artists called “the Itinerants” in English). Some of you may already be aware of my obsession with the peredvizhniki, especially Shishkin. Levitan is also awesome, but really, Shishkin.

I spent about 10 minutes staring at this painting. The online version doesn’t do the colors justice, but you can still tell it’s nice.
I spent about 10 minutes staring at this painting. The online version doesn’t do the colors justice, but you can still tell it’s nice.
This has been my computer background for quite a while, and I still love it. And it’s HUGE.
This has been my computer background for quite a while, and I still love it. And it’s HUGE.
Today I saw so many paintings of rye, pathways through rye, and more rye. But this is my favorite.]
I saw so many paintings of rye, pathways through rye, and more rye. But this is my favorite.]

Then we walked around a lot… like a lot… and came back to the hotel, where I ate borscht for dinner. And it was spicy! My lips stung for a while afterwards. I felt kind of betrayed by Russian cuisine, which is supposed to be failsafe for us spice-wimps. Next time I will request extra sour cream (never a bad idea anyway).

To close out orientation week, I threw a party in my hotel room. Yes, it was a tea party. Yes, we had decaf tea. Yes, we watched Anastasia. It felt appropriate.

Now on to bigger (if not better) things, like a 30-hour train ride. Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “in-country orientation

  1. You are a great writer. If you have extra time on your hands during the long cold winter, you should consider taking your experiences and putting it into novel form. Your capacity for wit and descriptive prose are enchanting!

    Like

  2. Katie, thank you for sharing your sojourning during orientation week. I loved the paintings, special and magnifique. Now about that train ride . . you are covered with prayer!
    Kathleen

    Like

Leave a Reply

